The Herb Block Foundation
Monday, October 24, 2016
202-223-8801 / Email/
Twitter Icon
Facebook Icon

Herblock Prize & Lecture

To commemorate Herb Block’s legacy, the Foundation awards the annual Herblock Prize for excellence in editorial cartooning. The Foundation created the Herblock Prize in 2004 to encourage editorial cartooning as an essential tool for preserving the rights of the American people through freedom of speech and the right of expression. Presented each spring at the Library of Congress, the prize is awarded by The Herb Block Foundation for distinguished examples of editorial cartooning that exemplify the courageous standard set by Herblock and is judged by a panel of outside experts.

The winner receives a tax free $15,000 cash prize as well as a sterling silver Tiffany trophy. Prize winners include:

2016 Mark Fiore, Self-syndicated
2015 Kevin Kallaugher (KAL), editorial cartoonist for The Baltimore Sun and The Economist
2014 Jen Sorensen, The Austin Chronicle
2013 Dan Perkins, aka Tom Tomorrow, creator of This Modern World
2012 Matt Bors, &
2011 Tom Toles, editorial Cartoonist for The Washington Post
2010 Matt Wuerker, Editorial cartoonist for Politico
2009 Pat Bagley, Cartoonist for The Salt Lake Tribune
2008 John Sherffius, The Camera of Boulder, Colorado
2007 Jim Morin, Miami Herald
2006 Jeff Danziger, Rutland Herald in Rutland, Vt.
2005 Tony Auth (1942-2014), The Philadelphia Inquirer
2004 Matt Davies, Journal News of Westchester County, N.Y.

The annual award ceremony also includes a guest lecturer who addresses social issues of the day in the spirit of Herb Block. The lectures have been delivered by Ben Bradlee of The Washington Post; President Barack Obama; former Supreme Court Justice Sandra Day O’Connor; Tom Brokaw of NBC News; Tim Russert of NBC; Ted Koppel formerly of ABC News; and writer, producer, director, playwright, author George Stevens, Jr., Jim Lehrer of the PBS Newshour; Garry Trudeau, creator of Doonesbury; Gwen Ifill, Moderator and Managing Editor of Washington Week and co-anchor and Managing Editor of PBS Newshour; and Bob Woodward, Associate Editor of The Washington Post.

2016   Ruben Bolling, "Tom the Dancing Bug”
2015   Mike Luckovich, editorial cartoonist for The Atlanta Journal-Constitution
2014   Clay Bennett, editorial cartoonist for The Chattanooga Times Free Press
2013   Jack Ohman, editorial cartoonist for The Sacramento Bee
2012  Jen Sorensen,
2011   Ann Telnaes, editorial Cartoonist for The Washington Post

Although the judges for the Herblock Prize always had a finalist chosen for the award, the finalist was not announced until the year 2011. The finalist in 2011 was Ann Telnaes of the Washington Post for her portfolio of animated editorial cartoons. In 2012, The Herb Block Foundation announced that past, present and future finalists of the Herblock Prize would receive a $5,000 after-tax award.