Press Releases

February 23, 2016
Mark Fiore has been named the winner of the 2016 Herblock Prize for editorial cartooning. Fiore is the first to win the Prize with all animated cartoon entries. 
March 02, 2015
Kevin Kallaugher (KAL) has been named the winner of the 2015 Herblock Prize for editorial cartooning. KAL is the international award winning editorial cartoonist for The Baltimore Sun and The Economist magazine. KAL's work for The Sun and The Economist has appeared in more than 100 publications worldwide, including The International Herald Tribune, The New York Times, Time, Newsweek, U.S. News and World Report, The Washington Post, Le Monde and Der Spiegel. His cartoons are distributed worldwide by Cartoonarts International and the New York Times Syndicate.
March 04, 2014
Jen Sorensen was named the winner of the 2014 Herblock Prize for editorial cartooning. Sorensen is the first female to win the Prize since it began in 2004. Jen Sorensen’s cartoons appear in approximately twenty alternative newspapers, including her local weekly, The Austin Chronicle. They are also published regularly in The Nation, Ms. Magazine, The Progressive, Politico, and on a variety of websites, including Daily Kos and Sorensen serves on the Board of Directors of the Association of American Editorial Cartoonists, as well as on the Advisory Board of the Billy Ireland Cartoon Library and Museum at Ohio State University.
February 26, 2013
Dan Perkins, pen name Tom Tomorrow, was named the winner of the 2013 Herblock Prize for editorial cartooning. Perkins is the creator of the weekly political cartoon, This Modern World, which appears in approximately 80 papers, mostly altweeklies. He is the editor of the comics section he created in April 2011 on Daily Kos. His cartoons have been featured in The New York Times, The New Yorker, U.S. News & World Report and The Economist. He lives outside of New Haven, Connecticut with his wife and their son.
May 11, 2012
Today, Dr. Robert Russell, the Executive Director of the Cartoonists Rights Network International (CRNI), announced the winners of the 2012 Courage in Editorial Cartooning Award as decided by a unanimous vote of the CRNI Board of Directors. The winners are Ali Ferzat, from Syria, and Aseem Trivedi, from India. 
March 12, 2012
Matt Bors, a nationally syndicated alternative editorial cartoonist, was named the winner of the 2012 Herblock Prize for editorial cartooning. 
April 20, 2011
The redesigned Herb Block Foundation website won two ADDYs at the Baltimore ADDY Awards—a Gold ADDY for Broadcast/Electronic–Interactive and the coveted Hal Donofrio Best in Show Award, both in the Public Service category.
February 28, 2011
Tom Toles, editorial cartoonist for The Washington Post, today was named the winner of The Herblock Prize for 2011.
February 17, 2010

Matt Wuerker, editorial cartoonist for Politico, today was named the winner of the 2010 Herblock Prize.

February 18, 2009
Pat Bagley of the Salt Lake Tribune has been selected the winner of the 2009 Herblock Prize for editorial cartooning, the Herb Block Foundation announced today.